10 to stand for Invercargill Mayoralty, 34 for City Council as nominations close

The nomination period for the 2022 local body elections has closed with 44 council and mayoral candidates putting their hand up to stand for Invercargill City Council.

Elections for the Invercargill City Council, the Bluff Community Board and the Invercargill Licensing Trust will be held in October this year.

Council Deputy Electoral Officer and Manager Governance and Legal Michael Morris said the end of the nomination period signalled the beginning of a busy time for both hopefuls and voters.

“The voting period begins on Friday, September 16 and ends on Saturday, October 8 at midday,” Morris said.

“Now is the time for voters to look out for lots of information about candidates and different events being held so they can be informed and make a decision on who you want to represent you, the city and Bluff.”

Council Chief Executive Clare Hadley said people are passionate about Council and its work.

“This is your moment to have your voice heard and to cast your vote for the person who represents what you want to see in our city,” Hadley said.

“Take the time to think about the issues we face as a community and who you think would best be suited to tackle them.”

Invercargill City Council, Southland District Council, Gore District Council, and Environment Southland have come together in collaboration for Vote Murihiku 2022 to encourage as many people as possible across Murihiku Southland to take part in the elections this year.

There was a voting hub planned for the Invercargill Central mall on Esk St, which would be a place where people can come to get all the information they may need to take part in the democratic process, to drop off their postal vote, or do a special vote, Morris said.

For more information, visit icc.govt.nz/elections and to let candidates know what you think the real issues are visit letstalk.icc.govt.nz

2022 Local Body Election Candidates are as follows:


  • Noel Peterson
  • Nobby Clark
  • Ria Bond
  • Tom Morton
  • Darren Ludlow
  • Stevey Chernishov
  • Toni Biddle
  • Tim Shadbolt
  • Marcus Lush
  • Jacqueline Walter


  • Noel Peterson
  • Tom Morton
  • Ria Bond
  • Tom Campbell
  • Trish Boyle
  • Bevan Smith
  • Malcolm Loan
  • David Pottinger
  • Lisa Tou-McNaughton
  • Darren Ludlow
  • Alex Crackett
  • Peter Kett
  • David Loudon
  • Lesley Soper
  • Allan Arnold
  • Kerry Hapuku
  • Ian Pottinger
  • Rebecca Amundsen
  • Barry Stewart
  • Grant Dermody
  • Kevin Mulrooney
  • Graham Lewis
  • Terry King
  • Karl Herman
  • Tim Shadbolt
  • Kevin Brown
  • Ian Edwards
  • Rick Murrell
  • Nigel Skelt
  • Francine Knowles
  • Eddie Blackburn
  • Peter Marshall
  • Dene Allen
  • Kari Graber

Bluff Community Board

  • Ray Fife
  • Rach Bailey
  • Justin Sutherland
  • Monica Toretto
  • Tammi Topi
  • Marc Jarvis
  • Terina Stockwell
  • Murray Christensen
  • Sam Graham
  • Lyn Moore
  • Miguel Fernandez

Invercargill Licensing Trust

  • Paddy O’Brien
  • Reece McDonald
  • Graham Hawkes
  • Mark Billcliff
  • Kirsten Diack
  • Sean Bellew
  • Suzanne Prentice
  • Sheree Carey
  • Louise Evans
  • Angela Newell
  • Mike Sanford
  • Nigel Low