Candidates for Invercargill City Council by-election announced

Nominations for next year’s Invercargill City Council by-election closed at 12 noon today. The confirmed list of candidates is;

  • Wade Devine
  • Tom Downey
  • Simon Edwards
  • Bernadine Goldsmith
  • Wayne Harpur
  • Carl Heenan
  • Marcus Lush
  • Kevin Mulrooney
  • David Pottinger

Michael Morris, Deputy Electoral Officer, is delighted with the high interest in the position left vacant in October 2020 after the resignation of Deputy Mayor, Cr Toni Biddle.

“I am pleased with the number of people who are willing to take part in local Government and want to be part of the City Council” Mr Morris said.

Election signs can be erected from tomorrow 23 December and voting will open on 26 January 2021. Election Day will be held on 17 February 2021.

for more information visit: