The next triennial Local Body Elections will be held in 2022

There will be a Representation Review for Invercargill City in 2021 conducted under the Local Electoral Act 2001. This will determine what the elections will be for in 2022 follow this link to find out more and how you can be involved.

The question of a Maori ward will be addressed as part of the Representation Review. Please follow the above link for more information.

There is a By-election Council is running on behalf of the Invercargill Licencing Trust- please follow this link to that ILT By-election page. (Link)

Voting System for 2022

Council has resolved at the Performance, Policy and Partnership Committee meeting on 11 August 2020 to retain First Past the Post (FPP) as its electoral system for the 2022 triennial elections.

As not poll has been submitted to change the FPP system this will be the voting system for the 2022 election

Local Body Elections 2019 and 2021 By-Election

Final results for Invercargill local authority elections 2019

2019 Local Elections Returns

Final Results for 2021 By-election

2021 By-election Returns

The most recent triennial elections were held in 2019.

The 2019 Elections were for:

Invercargill City Council

  • 1 Mayor
  • 12 councillors elected at large
  • 5 members to represent the Bluff Community Board

Other organisations

  • 6 councillors to represent the Invercargill-Rakiura Constituency of the Southland Regional Council
  • 3 members to represent the Southland Constituency of the Southern District Health Board
  • 6 members to represent the Invercargill Licensing Trust

Electoral Officer Contact Details

The Electoral Officer is responsible for the conduct of the Election and remains in office until an appointment is made prior to the 2022 elections. They will be responsible for running any By-elections and Polls that may be required.

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer
Ph: 0800 300 048 or email iro@electionz.com

Michael Morris
Deputy Electoral Officer
Ph: 03 211 8396 or email Michael.Morris@icc.govt.nz

2019 Councillors

Mayor Tim Shadbolt Invercargill City Council Lindsay Abbott Becs Amundsen Allan Arnold Toni Biddle  Nobby Clark   Alex Crackett   Peter Warren Kett   Graham Lewis   Darren Ludlow Ian Pottinger Nigel Skelt Lesley Soper Invercargill Licensing Trust Sean Peter Bellew Alan Dennis Mike Mika Angela Newell   Paddy O’Brien Suzanne Prentice Click here for the full progress results

Visit Page

2021 By-Election results

Marcus Lush has been elected to the Invercargill City Council, after voting in the by-election closed at midday today.  Final results The final result for the Invercargill City Council by-election that closed on Wednesday 17 February 2021 is: Marcus LUSH is declared elected. The voter return was 36.58%, being 14,700 votes. Name Votes LUSH, Marcus […]

Visit Page

2021 By-Election Candidate Expenses

2021 Expenses Wade Devine 2021 Expenses Tom Downey 2021 Expenses Simon Edwards 2021 Expenses Wayne Harpur 2021 Expenses Carl Heenan 2021 Expenses Marcus Lush 2021 Expenses Kevin Mulrooney 2021 Expenses David Pottinger 2021 Expenses Bernadine Goldsmith  

Visit Page

2021 ILT By-Election results

Election Day 27 May 2021: Final Results – 31 May 2021 – Louise Evans declared elected to the ILT Board Follow this link to the Final Results This results is the counting of all ordinary and special votes that were valid.

Visit Page