Final count sees change at Council table

The count of special votes has resulted in a change in the Invercargill City Council with Lindsay Abbott replacing Graham Sycamore in the 12th seat.

Electoral Officer Graham Low said on election night Mr Sycamore had a margin of three votes, but now Mr Abbott was in with a margin of six votes.

“We processed 46 special votes – that was the only change going through. We finalised 21,378 votes, which is 54.9% of eligible voters.”

Members of the new Council will be sworn in at an Inaugural Council Meeting  in the Civic Administration Building at 4pm on October 26. The Bluff Community Board members will meet on October 31 at 7pm in the Bluff Municipal Chambers.