Fire restrictions

Southern Rural Fire will impose a Restricted Fire Season from Monday (14 December 2015).

This means fire permits are required for all burning except:

  • Camp fires
  • Barbecues (gas and coal)
  • Incinerators
  • Offal holes
  • Piled up hedge trimmings, where the tree limbs are smaller than 75mm in diameter and the pile is not larger than two meters square.

All fires around Awarua / Waituna wetlands require a fire permit for all types of burning all year round.