Nominations open

Candidate nominations for the Invercargill and Bluff 2016 Local Authority Elections opened on Friday, 15 July 2016 and Rolls are open for inspection at Council offices and other sites locally.

Nominations  for the Invercargill City Council, Bluff Community Board, Environment Southland, or Invercargill Licensing Trust have to received by the Electoral Officer no later than noon on 12 August. Nomination forms are available on this website (see below) and at Bluff and Invercargill Council offices.

Successful candidates are elected for a term of three years. This year elections will be held for:

  • Mayor of Invercargill
  • Invercargill City Council: 12 Councillors to be elected
  • Southland Regional Council (Environment Southland): 6 Councillors to be elected for the Invercargill-Rakiura Constituency

Depending on where you live, you may also vote for:

  • Bluff Community Board: 5 Board Members to be elected
  • Invercargill Licensing Trust:  6 Board Members to be elected

NOTE: There is no Southern District Health Board election this year.


Nomination forms

Community Board (Member)
Community Pool Trust Board (Member)

City Council (Mayor)
City Council (Councillor)

Licensing Trust (Member)

Environment Southland
Six Councillors for the Invercargill-Rakiura Constituency
Environment Southland website: or Council Offices.



12 August 2016: Nominations close at noon. Rolls close. After this date, anyone who is entitled to vote and who is not enrolled as an elector, or whose details are incorrectly recorded on the roll, will have to cast a “special vote”.

17 August 2016: Election date and candidates’ names publicised by Electoral Officers.

16-21 September 2016: Voting documents delivered to households. Electors can post the documents back to Electoral Officers as soon as they have voted.

Saturday, 8 October 2016: Election day. Voting documents must be at the Council before voting closes at noon. Preliminary results (i.e. once all “ordinary” votes are counted) will be available as soon as possible .

12 October 2016 (or as soon as practicable): Official results (including all valid ordinary and special votes) declared.


Related information