Six named for Advisory Panel

The six people selected to sit on an independent advisory panel for the City’s 2015 Representation Review, to be chaired by Invercargill City Councillor Rebecca Amundsen, have been named.

Invercargill City Council Chief Executive Richard King said the Local Government Act 2002 requires local authorities to conduct a formal Representation Review every six years. This includes reviewing how Councillors are elected and whether there should be community boards.

Planning and Reporting Analyst Kari Graber said that in February 2015 Council advertised publicly for expressions of interest from people willing to serve on the Independent Panel. “We received applications from a large number of highly qualified applicants and have carefully chosen a panel that we think will reflect the diversity of Invercargill and Bluff. It was really exciting to have around 30 people from all walks of life wanting to become involved in the democratic process.”

The Panel will be out and about talking with members of the public about the Representation Review, starting in May. The panel members are:

  • Judy Lange – Director on the National Board of the MTA and local B& B operator
  • Steve Mitchell – Chairman of Bluff Promotions and Chairman of Bluff 2024
  • Iwi Representative, Raewynne Evans – Farmer and former librarian
  • Geoff Piercy – Former President Grey Power Southland, former Invercargill City Councillor
  • Rochelle Surendran – Programme Facilitator at the Department of Corrections and former practicing lawyer
  • Jon Turnbull – Principal at Jon Turnbull and Associates and Regional Director for World Vision
  • Councillor Rebecca Amundsen (Chair)

Mr King said Council was pleased to have a panel with such a wide mix of skills and experience and looked forward to their ideas and their involvement in consulting with the community.