Scholarship recipients named

The 2019 Alex Lindsay Memorial Scholarships have been awarded to Lewis Thomson and Brendan Peters from Invercargill.

Brendan is studying towards his Bachelor of Music in Jazz Performance and Lewis is planning to continue his violin studies and achieve his ATCL.

The Alex Lindsay Memorial Scholarship honours Alex Lindsay, a distinguished violinist, conductor, orchestra leader and concert master of the NZBC (now known as the NZ Symphony Orchestra). He was born in Invercargill.

These are the final Alex Lindsay Memorial Scholarships to be awarded.

The 2019 O’Byrne/Jones Memorial Scholarships have been awarded to Danny Wang  and Bertil Feng from Invercargill.

Danny and Bertil are both studying for the Dip ABRSM and will then complete their teaching qualification.

The O’Byrne Jones Memorial Scholarship honours May Jones, (nee O’Byrne) who was a piano teacher in Invercargill for 76 years.