2023 By-election

Page last updated 12 October 2023 2.44pm

Final result

Final results include all 13,335 votes.

Steve Broad has been confirmed as elected.


Election expenses


Preliminary result

Please note: Preliminary result has now been superseded by the Final result, posted above. 

Preliminary results include all 13,158 ordinary votes, and does not include 213 special votes still to be processed.

With a margin over 1000 votes, and with 213 special votes to be counted, Steve Broad has been confirmed as the winner.


Progress result

Please note: Progress result has now been superseded by the Preliminary result, posted above. 

Progress results include all votes received by our electoral provider in Christchurch on Friday morning. Progress results will not include votes cast late Thursday, on Friday 4 August, or any special votes.


Daily returns

You can view the daily returns at electionz.com



David John Hicks
Contact: wildbritain@gmail.com, 022 6989 789 
Nominated by: Kate French, Matthew Couldrey

Carl Edward Heenan
Contact: 021 031 7806 
Nominated by: Kenneth Gollan, Jayne Leask

Graham Lewis
Contact: maharg@southnet.co.nz, 021 676647 
Nominated by: Colin Jenkins, Gillian Watson

Andrea Murrell
Contact: murrellandrea@gmail.com, 028 85008539
Nominated by: Allan Arnold, Richard Murrell

Lisa Tou-McNaughton
Contact: lisatoumcnaughton@gmail.com, 021 055 66 74
Nominated by: Thomas Campbell, Christine Cole

David Pottinger
Contact: pottingerbuist@gmail.com, 027 44 77567
Nominated by: Josephine Buist, Michael Conway

David Meades
Contact: meades4icc@outlook.com, 020 40 687 176
Nominated by: Annabel Small, Christopher Romero

Sebastien Fabre
Contact: sebastien.m.fabre@gmail.com, 0220499715
Nominated by: Amber McMurdo, Karley Henderson-Te Tai

Ian Reeves
Contact: reevesee@kinect.co.nz, 0272070106
Nominated by: Timothy Ward, Jonathan Tucker

Terry King
Contact: terrencio@xtra.co.nz
Nominated by: Kaye Crowther, Marlyen Davis

Rob Te Maiharoa
Contact: robyn.temaiharoa@sit.ac.nz, 027 2282484
Nominated by: Jodi Conway, Jessica Smith

Steve Broad
Contact: Stevejbroad@gmail.com
Nominated by: Nicholas Jeffrey, Michael Broad

Tom Morton
Contact: MORTONThomasDavid@gmail.com
Nominated by: Peter Shanks, Timothy Shanks

Asha Dutt
Nominated by: Wayne Harpur, Emily Burke-Pearce


By-election signs

For information and where you can place a sign / hoarding and the rules around them please refer to the Elections Signs page.


Information for candidates

We have prepared a Candidate Handbook and briefing document that updates the handbook for this Council term for all candidates that provides essential information on what being elected means and important information about the campaign process.

Download a copy below, or contact Michael Morris (Michael.Morris@icc.govt.nz) for a hard copy to be posted to you.


Further notice of By-election


Election protocols

With the By-election Council has issued a Staff Protocol to help guide staff during the By-election period.


Ratepayers electors enrolments

Do you own property in another Council district? If so you might be eligible to become a Ratepayer Elector. Click here to learn more.



Are you ready to Vote?

The Electoral Commission looks after enrolments for voting. If you are uncertain if you are enrolled, have recently turned 18, become a Resident or moved you may want to check if you are enrolled!

You can also ring the Electoral Commission, anytime, on 0800 36 76 56

Or you can contact us and we can post out a form for you to fill in and return to the Electoral Commission- it is even free postage.


Voting system for this by-election

Council has resolved at the Performance, Policy and Partnership Committee meeting on 11 August 2020 to retain First Past the Post (FPP) as its electoral system for the 2022 triennial elections and any By-elections.


We will be consulting on the system for 2025 shortly – follow this link to find out more information.


Electoral Officer contact details

The Electoral Officer is responsible for the conduct of the election.

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer
Phone: 0800 666 048
Email: iro@electionz.com

Michael Morris
Deputy Electoral Officer
Phone: 03 211 8396
Email: michael.morris@icc.govt.nz